Ableton Control for drummers

Ableton

noisy77

over 6 years ago (edited)

Hi All, I'm just getting into the loop/multitrack thing. I have some tracks that I have been working with in Ableton and am loving that. My issue is... how to launch cues while playing. I have the multitracks segmented out, I know how to assign the midi/usb/keyboard or what-have-you. But what is the best control surface for drummers. I like the features that the Looptimus offers, but it would seem that something like a roland SPS-S with the same functionality as the Looptimus would be the ticket. What are other drummers using to launch cues/loops? has anyone found a drum pad/surface that can you can assign multiple banks of cues to? Thanks,
noisy77

over 6 years ago

Or possibly any other setup suggestions?
nlsn

over 6 years ago

I'm a drummer. I use my laptop mounted on my rack just between my small tom and the hi-hat. I simply map keystrokes to launch the loops in Session view. I usually let the loops run without much input. Song 1 is the number one on the keyboard, song 2 is number two, etc... I use the space bar to stop the loop when needed. You can midi map a Looptimus, or a SoftStep. Neither way (foot controller or key mapping) help drummers much since you usually get busy with both hands and feet. Right now, I just cheat playing with one hand while I use my free hand to fire loops when needed. It works for me.
Kevin_onDrums

over 6 years ago

You should be able to map a SPD-s to work. I don't launch samples and loops while playing. I used to do it with an SPD-s before I got into running tracks. Now I just have the whole thing sequenced and launch the song. I use a Korg NanoPad2 to launch them all.
jonknapp

over 6 years ago

I have the exact same question . . . any other recommendations from drummers?
CaseyBarrett

over 6 years ago