Using Arrangement View instead of Session View for Worship

Ableton

dspille

almost 6 years ago (edited)

I have been building and running my sets in arrangement view for the last several months based upon the methods described at https://youtu.be/ldUPBkGz6ig, and have even started adding dynamic guide cues to Ableton using the tutorial at https://youtu.be/aFk8mz1EHSo. I have been very pleased with the minimal workflow, the freedom that I've gained in being able to repeat or skip sections of the song, and how smooth the song transitions are. I was just wondering, is anyone else out there doing this? If so, how is it working for you?
tjwinters

almost 6 years ago

I use Arrangement View for editing but not performance. I prefer the vertical timeline of Session View as opposed to the horizontal of Arrangement. But I've seen many pros using Arrangement View so I feel like I should try it. Session view is (almost) just as versatile as Arrangement View for me; unfortunately it requires a couple of "Max for Live " devices to make it that way.
JansonRoberts

almost 6 years ago

Hey Dennis, Most worship leaders that I know are using arrangement view for editing/creating tracks and if they are using it during the live worship setting, they usually just tie every song together so they never have to stop the flow of the track. There is definitely room for flexibility in arrangement view, which is why Ableton is so great. Happy Looping! - Janson
sandbar17

almost 6 years ago

I've used Arrangement view using the information from those same YT videos for special occasions, but for us, Session view works better on a weekly basis. Those are great videos. I learned a lot from them.
deweb

almost 6 years ago